UHRC Chairperson and New Members of the Commission Sworn-in

Friday, February 5, 2016 - 09:00

The Chief Justice of Uganda Hon Bart Katureebe today presided over the swearing –in ceremony of the new Chairperson and Members of the Commission of the Uganda Human Rights Commission at the High Court, Kampala.


The function which was moderated by the Chief Registrar of the High Court His Worship Paul Gadenya followed a recent re-appointment of Mr. S.K Kaggwa as the Chairperson of the Uganda Human Rights Commission and four other members of the Commission by the President of the Republic of Uganda H.E YoweriKagutaMusevenion January 21, 2016. The six-year term of the previous Commission expired in about ten months ago.


Other members of the newly appointed Commission who took their oath today are Dr. Katebalirwe Amooti Wa Irumba, Mr. Joseph Etima,Hon (Rtd) Justice Gideon Tinyinondi and Hon. Meddie B. Mulumba. They all assumed office today immediately after being sworn-in.


The Chairperson Hon. Kaggwa and two members Dr. Katebalirwe and Mr. Etima were re-appointed having already served a term of six years. The new appointees join two other serving members at the Commission Col. Stephen Basaliza and Ms. Violet Akurut Adome whose term is still running since their appointment in 2012. The Uganda Human Rights Commission now has a total of seven members including the Chairperson.


The appointment of new members has been welcomed at Uganda Human Rights Commission which has not been fully constituted for over ten months now. The Chairperson and Members of the Commission were received by the Secretary to the Commission Mr. G.T Mwesigye and staff of the Uganda Human Rights Commission Head office on Lumuba Avenue after the swearing –in ceremony and hosted to a welcome reception.


The new Commission brings with it a wealth of experience in human rights and governance since most of them have been at the UHRC.  The new appointees Hon (Rtd) Justice Gideon Tinyinondi and Hon. Meddie B. Mulumba also have valuable experience in the areas of access to justice, arbitration, democracy and governance.


Mr. Med S.K Kaggwa, who took office as Chairperson of the Commission for the first term in May 2009, is credited for steering the UHRC to greater heights in the past six years which saw the Uganda Human Rights Commission maintain its ‘A’ status accreditation with the United Nation’s International Coordination Committee for the third time running. During his term, UHRC also received an award as the Best National Human Rights Institution (NHRI) in Africa in 2012 in Banjul.


The high profile responsibilities that Mr. Kaggwa has held at various regional and international human rights organisations such as the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (ACHPR) and the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) on the Independent Permanent Human Rights Commission (IPHRC),make his re- appointment pertinent in the pursuit of the human rights agenda.


The members of the Commission that have been re-appointed also bring back their vast experience and knowledge in human rights work since over the years they have been at the helm of protecting and promoting human rights, through particularly delivering justice through the UHRC Tribunal to victims of human rights violations and abuses.  They join the other members that have been a great asset in guiding the technical staff throughout this period when the Commission was not fully constituted.